It’s My Bone – That’s the Rule

You know the adage, “throw a dog a bone.” In Parker’s case, you can toss it but don’t expect to get it back without a fight. Our sweet, gentle dog was transformed from Cavalier to Pit Bull as I tried to take away his rib eye steak bone. It’s no wonder. I read that part of this goes back to wolf pack behavior. In packs, if one of the weaker, lower-status wolves captures a big, meaty chunk for itself, the higher-status wolves or pack leaders will not take it from them. It’s like a canine law. After Parker growled at me, I scolded him and walked away. He followed me around the house – with pleading eyes, a wagging tail and the rib eye bone firmly lodged in his mouth – until I forgave him. When asked to drop it the second time, Parker grudgingly relinquished his prize.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “It’s My Bone – That’s the Rule”

  1. Shelley Says:

    Love it. Even the best of dogs have their “thing”.

  2. Kaylynn Says:

    A bone is serious stuff. So cute hd decided to share.

Leave a Reply

