A Rude Awakening

At 2 a.m., I wake up to Parker barking ferociously, leaping off the bed and sprinting to the front door. I get up, with heart racing, to take a peek into the foyer. Everything looks the way I left it the night before. Naturally, I think, “He just got spooked.” That was until I hear a deep, bellowing bark. I look out the front door’s left side window to see a Pit Bull growling at me. He and Parker spar by barking back and forth – until I finally calm our protective Cavalier. I don’t know where our visitor came from last night. But, I certainly hope this was his first and last appearance.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A Rude Awakening”

  1. Kaylynn Says:

    Hopefully Parker showed him who was boss and he will not be back. That had to be so scary.

  2. parkermblog Says:

    Parker and I would have been toast, if we would have been outside. I was just thanking God for the sticks and bricks in-between us! But, he did show no fear from behind the door!

  3. Kaylynn Says:

    Have you guys seen the dog again?

  4. parkermblog Says:

    No – thankfully! But, I think about him every time I walk Parker.

  5. preobrazhenskii Says:

    Wow, that is quite frightening, and I would feel the same too. Earlier this year I had an encounter with two collies who came racing over to attack my Kirra, and I had to place her between my legs as I knelt down to protect her. I am pleased to say the collies retreated when they realised I had no hesitation in lashing out both verbally and with hand gestures.

    I am pleased to say we no longer live in that location, and now feel more relaxed when out on our walks. I still am wary, as my Kirra is very sensitive, although when a friendly dog approaches she realises all is okay and wants to play.

Leave a Reply

